Swanks Farm

I can not think of a better way to start out 2013 than attending a charity event with a great group of friends. Sunday I attended a Swank Farm’s “Farm to Table” event benefiting the Milagro Center, a charity near and dear to my heart.

The event started with mojitos and hors d’oeuvres. Jodi and Darren Swank gave a talk about the farm and eating locally grown produce.

IMG_1618IMG_1628IMG_1624 IMG_1627 IMG_1622Aran Goyoaga was signing her book Small Plates and Sweet Treats. The book was nominated for the James Beard award. I will talk more about Aran in another post.

Lunch was served alfresco. Judith Olney bought the handmade vine baskets in North Carolina. Different businesses/volunteers made the centerpieces. IMG_1617 IMG_1616 IMG_1615 IMG_1611 IMG_1612 IMG_1610 Art work created by the children at the Milagro Center after they had a field trip to Swanks Farm.IMG_1609 IMG_1608 IMG_1607 IMG_1606 IMG_1605 IMG_1604

IMG_1629Lindsay Autry’s amazing vegetable salad with watermelon radishes and pickled shelling beans topped with a sorrel buttermilk dressing. This salad and dessert was my favorite. Lindsay is now the chef at the Sundy House.IMG_1630Chef Chris Miracolo grilled blue point oyster bruschetta with stewed chickpeas. Chris works at Max’s Harvest restaurant.

IMG_1632

Chef Gordon Maybury’s beet salad and heirloom tomatoes with a tangerine dressing. Chris is the head chef at the PGA Resort.IMG_1633Chef Sean McDonald grilled yogurt marinated swordfish with tomatoes and upland cress salad. Sean is the head chef at the Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort’s Ilios Restaurant.IMG_1635Chef Darlene Moree of Paris Sorbet created Poir William Brandy Sorbet shaped like a pear served with stilton shortbread, candied pecans and pear scented caramel sauce. This dessert was beyond words. I do not think anyone left hungry.

I must not forget, Jenny Benzie, head sommelier of Pour Sip Savour, served a different wine with each course.

Have you ever been to a farm to table event? This was my third event at Swanks Farm and I can not wait till my next. Each event is different and unique in its own way. I hope you are enjoying 2013.

X

7 responses to “Swanks Farm

  1. Ok I’m all over the Stilton shortbread! Salty cheesy buttery- oh my! I will definitely try to create that in my kitchen. And I will also try to make it to the next farm to table event in my area. Thanks for sharing and giving me inspiration. Love your posts.

  2. It was so much fun!I can’t wait until my next event.My Canadian friend loved it. She is hoping to attend another.
    The salad was THE BEST SALAD I have ever tasted!I’m still dreaming about it.
    I’m sorry we missed the dessert.It sounded like a very interesting combination of flavours.
    I highly recommend these events,they are great fun and something different.

  3. Pingback: One Year Anniversary | whatisinmyworld·

Leave a Reply

