Holidays Traditions

Our personal traditions are what make the holidays special and unique to each and every one of us. Here are some of my traditions. P1020316 (1) P1020368 (2)P1020367I have collected various eclectic ornaments over the years. My children have made some of them. Many of the ornaments hold a special memory. This year I included some hand painted ornaments that were not being used by a friend.IMG_1595I have had this cookie recipe since middle school. My friend Julie’s mom used to make these delicious peanut butter oatmeal cookies with m&m’s and chocolate chips. P1020331Everyone receives a gift at the table on Christmas Eve. This dinner includes dear friends from afar. I usually try to have a theme with the gifts.P1020338Christmas Eve dinner is always meatloaf, mashed potatoes and french haricot verts.P1020346Dessert Christmas Eve is always a yule log from Blu Provence Bakery. They always create unique and different logs each year.P1020366 Everyone in my family receives a book each year. After all the festivities, I love curling up and enjoying a good book.P1020423 Every Christmas morning after we open presents I make these caramels rolls. My mom always made them when I was growing up. I usually only make them on Christmas morning.

Here are a few things that I did this year that I would like to make annual festivities.P1020303  A festive dinner for a friends birthday.IMG_0245A tree for the Ann Norton Sculpture Garden Festival of the Trees. A friend and I designed and decorated this tree for a charity event.

I would love to hear what your traditions are.

Wishing each and everyone of you a joyous holiday season and best wishes for 2013.

x

11 responses to “Holidays Traditions

  1. Merry Christmas Margaret!! I very much enjoyed reading about your traditions. It’s the small things we do that make us who we are. I have a few things that are annual Christmas traditions in my home. One is our family gift exchange which takes place on christmas Eve. We each buy gifts for one another and give them out on the 24th. Then Santa comes overnight and surprises everyone with his gifts on Christmas morning. We do a fancy dinner on Christmas Day and enjoy our decorated home with candles lit and Christmas lights aglow. It’s still a magical time for my boys and me- a time that brings us great joy every year.

    • Thank you for sharing your traditions. They sound lovely. I would love to see photos of your house all decorated. Maybe next holiday season I will show different houses and how they are decorated. That is, if I remember. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  2. Margaret- our tradition is to mix it up. it is different every year because our children have grown up- now we include girlfriends and boyfriends and because of their family obligations, our celebrations change. This year a christmas tree was erected when most years candle were lit for Hannukah. Sometimes, we have big christmas lunches and this year we celebrated with friends and family for christmas eve. I love tradition but i think ours is to be different every year. And thats okay too!

  3. I am so touched that Monster Cookies made their way into your traditions! My unfortunate pattern was to burn the last batch by leaving them in the oven because I was so tired and bored baking them all! I have grown out of that and they are still a special treat in my home! Hope you had the Merriest of Christmas celebrations! Peace, Julie

    • That is why I only make them once a year. It is a full day. My daughter and her friend promised to help but ended up watching 4 episodes of Gossip Girl while consuming monster cookies. Best wishes to you and yours. Thank you for forwarding to your mom.XO

  4. Margaret, Julie sent me an email that you mentioned our cookies in your blog. I’m very flattered and would love to hear more about what you are doing. We still talk about how David R. used to walk to meet you when he knew you were coming to babysit.
    Merry Christmas
    Marlene (Billion) Rance……….I go by my birth name.

  5. This is such a special time of year. I love hearing about people’s different traditions. A new friend to our family told me the cousins, each make each other an ornament for their
    Tree. I think that is sweet, thoughtful personal and inexpensive!

  6. Pingback: One Year Anniversary | whatisinmyworld·

Leave a Reply

